Flash Communications

Tales from a student-PR agency at Kent State University

Entertainment PR Tips from an Intern

Leave a comment

PR Senior Amanda Knauer provides tips on getting ahead in event public relations

PR Senior Amanda Knauer provides tips on getting ahead in entertainment public relations

Since the day I heard about Allied Integrated Marketing when I was a sophomore, I knew I wanted to eventually intern there. Allied “builds impactful and results-driven campaigns for entertainment and lifestyle clients.”  The agency’s closest branch to me is in Cleveland, but there are offices all over the country (Los Angeles, New York City, Chicago, San Diego, Boston, Washington D.C., and the list goes on). At the branch in Cleveland, the agency works basically with new movies coming out in theaters.

After applying and interviewing for the position this past December, I kept my fingers crossed as I waited for the phone call. You can imagine my excitement when the agency finally called and offered me an intern position. I saw it as a way to get my foot in the door. The entertainment sector is a tough one to get into when it comes to public relations.

So, although I have only been an intern at Allied for about a month now, I have learned and experienced many different things about the entertainment industry. Here are a few tips to being successful as an entertainment PR intern:

Always say yes
I am not the only intern at this agency in Cleveland this semester. There are two other skilled and knowledgeable interns from Kent State working in the office as well. When our internship supervisor emails us and asks who can work a promotional event, my response is (usually) always yes (unless, of course, I have already dedicated my time to work at Flash Communications or go to class).

I have discovered that if you do not say yes and make yourself available, someone else will. There are tons of other people wanting to be in your shoes and who could be more willing to make time in their schedule. Say yes to everything thrown your way. Make yourself available. They will remember you.

Ask questions
Entertainment PR is lively and busy. The publicists at Allied are young and energetic and often forget that you are a new intern with (in my case) very little experience in this face-paced world. My first day on the job I received an overwhelming amount of assignments and instructions. I was lost. I have never liked asking questions for fear of appearing ignorant, but I had to.

The publicists in the office were happy to explain their projects in more detail to me. After a couple minutes of discussing and clarifying, I was on my way. Ask questions and make sure you do it right the first time. Don’t be afraid to not know everything.

It is not a 9-5 job
Sure, I’m only in the office at my desk until 5 p.m. But the real work starts after you clock out.

From movie screenings to promotional events at bars and malls, being an intern in an entertainment industry is a nights and weekends jobs as well. If you’re looking for an internship (or a job) where you can leave work at 5 p.m. and not think about it again until you sit down at your desk in the morning, entertainment PR is not for you. You have to love what you do and who you do it for. If you do, you won’t mind the extra out-of-office time dedicated to it.

If you want a job in the entertainment PR industry, start with an internship and see if it’s for you. You’ll learn a lot and experience even more. If you like working in a fast-paced, energetic environment, maybe you’ll find yourself loving the entertainment side of things as much as I do.

Author: LukeArmour

Luke Armour is the Coordinator of Flash Communications, managing this bright student intern PR agency housed in Kent's University Communications & Marketing. He's also an Assistant Professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Kent State University.

Leave a Reply

