Flash Communications

Tales from a student-PR agency at Kent State University

How I Handle Interview Anxiety

Leave a comment

Amanda Lang

Advertising major, Amanda Lang, shares some of her tips for reducing anxiety when conducting interviews

Conducting interviews is not my strong point. Whether the interview is carried out by phone, in person or through email, every time, without fail, my fingers shake, and I turn into a big bundle of nerves. Even if I am well-acquainted with the person I am interviewing, I become horribly apprehensive. I have always been this way.

When I was offered an internship position at Flash Communications, I knew giving interviews was part of the job description. Instead of running for the hills, I decided this could be a great opportunity for me to overcome my interview anxiety.

Since the beginning of the semester, I have interviewed various people, and I have learned some very useful methods to deal with my fear that others may be able to apply as well:

Take deep breaths. This decelerates the heart rate and reduces your stress level.

Distract yourself. The more people think about upcoming interviews, the more nervous they are likely to get. Instead of worrying needlessly, direct your thoughts towards other things.

Be prepared. Before giving an interview, prepare questions, organize information and make sure you have all the supplies you need in working order. Call or arrive right on time.

Don’t avoid your fear. By working at Flash Communications, I am confronting my social anxiety. Every time I give an interview my confidence increases, and it gradually gets easier for me to calm my nerves.

I’m tackling my fears and learning a lot about the interview process. I still get really stressed, but I have come a long way. Having interviewing skills may come in handy for me in the future, so I’m glad to be given the chance to overcome my anxiety.

Author: LukeArmour

Luke Armour is the Coordinator of Flash Communications, managing this bright student intern PR agency housed in Kent's University Communications & Marketing. He's also an Assistant Professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Kent State University.

Leave a Reply

