Flash Communications

Tales from a student-PR agency at Kent State University

English Student in the World of Public Relations

Leave a comment

Michael Cellars, Senior English major, offers his thoughts on being surrounded by PR students

Michael Cellars, Senior English major, offers his thoughts on being surrounded by PR students

Back in September, I wrote a story on my third day as an English intern working at Flash Communications, a student public relations agency within Kent State’s University Communications and Marketing. I talked about my complete lack of knowledge when it came to PR and news writing, and how I had much to learn in a short amount of time if I was going to succeed. All I had ever known before was writing papers for English classes, using MLA style formatting, not this AP style I had never previously seen before in my life. This was going to be a challenge.

It is now December; I am alive and well.

Following the format of AP style threw me off guard. Lucky for me though, I was given a packet of how to correctly format certain items (such as dates and numbers), in addition to the AP Stylebook that I can refer to whenever needed. I am thankful I had these resources at my disposal since they really came in clutch while writing certain articles and needing to know the correct format.

A great part about writing news stories and press releases is that there is a general formula to how it is supposed to be written, with specific information of what’s going on first, followed by additional information with quotes in between. Though there are always edits and revisions (as with any form of writing), I feel the amount of changes decreased over time. That is why I am very appreciative of my boss/editor, because he taught me how to structure my writing in this format.

With only a couple weeks left at this internship, I am grateful for the time I have spent here, the knowledge I have gained and the experience of working in a professional setting. I look forward to taking all of this with me in my future endeavors, whatever they may one day be.

Author: LukeArmour

Luke Armour is the Coordinator of Flash Communications, managing this bright student intern PR agency housed in Kent's University Communications & Marketing. He's also an Assistant Professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Kent State University.

Leave a Reply

